Vacancy: Longmeadow School Committee

Four members of the Longmeadow School  Committee are resigning.  

Committee chair Beth Baron and members Kerrin  Morrin, Stephanie Jasmin and Melanie Rothstein all submitted their  notices to leave yesterday, reducing the board to just three members.   

Voters gave themselves the ability to recall elected  officials last week, which was aimed directly at the  school board for not renewing the contract of Superintendent Martin  O'Shea.  

Baron, Morrin, Rothstein and Jasmin were the "no" votes in a  four-to-three decision against the contract renewal.

Meantime, town officials are expected to meet in a special conclave to pick four new members for the school committee.  

That special election would be with Town Selectmen and the remaining school committee members.

Sponsored Content

Sponsored Content